Glass to Lead Interpretive Committee


Dr. Brent D. Glass, Director Emeritus of the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of American History, has been named Chair of the Engines of Freedom Interpretive Committee.  The Committee will provide the scholarly underpinnings to support the story lines presented in the visitor experience.  The twelve-member committee includes historians, museum professionals, and industry executives from across the country. Below is a listing of the current members



Engines of Freedom Interpretation Planning Advisory Committee


Thomas R. Brown, President (retired)                                         
Union Pacific – Streamline, LLC
Omaha, Nebraska

Albert J. Churella, PhD; Professor of History
Kennesaw State
Kennesaw, Georgia


Simon Cordery, PhD; Chair, Department of History
Western Illinois University
Macomb, Illinois


William J. DeWitt, PhD; Executive Director 

Transportation Institute 

University of Denver
Denver, Colorado


Brent D. Glass, PhD; Director Emeritus                                                         

Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of America History

Washington, DC


H. Roger Grant, PhD; Kathryn and Calhoun Lemon Professor of History
Clemson University

Clemson, South Carolina

William E. Greenwood, COO (retired)                                        
Burlington Northern Railway
Ft. Worth, Texas


Thomas G. Hoback; Founder, President, and CEO (retired)

Indiana Rail Road Company
Indianapolis, Indiana


Donald Hofsommer, PhD; Professor of History (retired)
St. Cloud St. University
St. Cloud, Minnesota


Julie King, Executive Director
National Railroad Hall of Fame
Galesburg, Illinois

Scott Lothes, Executive Director

Center for Railroad Photography & Art
Madison, Wisconsin

Matthew Solari, Creative Director - Project Development
BRC Imagination Arts
Burbank, California


Catherine Taylor, Director of Properties             
Nantucket Historical Association
Nantucket, Massachusetts


Courtney B. Wilson, Executive Director  

B & O Railroad Museum

Baltimore, Maryland

Call us:


Locate us: 

311 East Main St., Suite 513, Galesburg, IL 61401


(c) National Railroad Hall of Fame 2018. 

Social Media: